Karma reasons for concrete message

zvuv

• Darwins +4/-0

Hi,

I'm in my 60s,  I live in Los Alamos NM.  I worked on the Dept of Energy Nuclear Weapons Project for 22 years  doing engineering and math stuff.  These days I'm a software developer.

At about 18 I found myself in Jerusalem and got deeply involved in orthodox Judaism.  I spent 10 years studying Talmud in a Yeshiva ( a theological seminary ).  I got married there and had three kids.  Near the end of this period I was reluctantly ordained to the rabbinate but by this time I knew it wasn't working for me.   I needed the qualification to get a job. We moved to the US,  I taught in a private Hebrew Day School for a couple of years,  hating it all the time.  I wanted out.  I find it hard to convey how restricted and isolated that life was.  In retrospect, this chapter of my life seems like a psychotic episode.  Finally I got myself into a master's engineering program, got a degree and found a real job and moved to Los Alamos.
It was the usual story, as soon as I showed my cards,  I lost all my friends and  community. 

The transition from  fundamentalist or  religious fanatic was a slow process taking about 15 years to  move across the spectrum  and end up as an atheist. 

I had all the usual dissatisfactions,  people didn't abide by the principles they espoused,  the rules seemed very elastic and could be bent to any purpose.  I felt very limited, shut out from things that I wanted to do,   go to college, talk to all sorts of people , smoke weed ....   but the primary issue for me was that I never formed an emotional connection with God.  It never worked for me, though God knows I tried  :).  Someone else in this section has expressed a very similar experience.  Without that to to sustain me,  I had no motive to ignore all the other problems.  I think that , with variations, mine is a common story.