Author Topic: Probabilities of God's existence debate  (Read 45248 times)

Online JeffPT

• Reader
  • Darwins +203/-0
  • I'm a lead farmer mutha fucka
Re: Probabilities of God's existence debate
« Reply #1595 on: September 09, 2014, 10:12:42 PM »
Removed... double post
Whenever events that are purported to occur in our best interest are as numerous as the events that will just as soon kill us, then intent is hard, if not impossible to assert. NDT

Online nogodsforme

• Professor
  • Darwins +849/-6
  • Jehovah's Witness Protection Program
« Reply #1596 on: September 10, 2014, 12:46:58 AM »
I would take issue with the idea that most people feel god. I never did, although I acted the way everyone else did who said they felt god. I was faking it.[1] I wonder how many other people are also faking it, because it is so clearly normal for "most people to feel god"?

Let me give an example. You know the Batman symbol? The black and yellow logo? The only reason we think it looks like a bat is because people say it is a bat. Everyone sees a bat, right? Wrong. It looks like a black Rorshach blot on a yellow background.

My sister confided to me, some years ago, at one of the Batman movies, that she has never seen a bat in the logo. To her it has always looked like an open mouth with two teeth on top and four teeth on the bottom.[2]

I looked at her like she had just told me she was actually from Mars--she didn't see the bat? Really? How could anyone not see the bat? Then I looked and, with difficulty, "saw" what she saw. Okay, it could sorta be teeth, but why would they draw big yellow teeth and say it was a bat? Like a comedy routine, my sister said, "That's what I have been wondering all my life!" ;D