Author Topic: So How Deluded am I?  (Read 4079 times)

Offline contrapunctus

So How Deluded am I?
« on: July 06, 2009, 12:38:07 AM »
Hello all,

Since this is my first post I think I should introduce myself a bit.
I'm a student at the University of Florida studying Environmental Engineering and atmospheric chemistry.  I love mountain biking, trail riding, and participating in triathlons.  I also consider myself to be quite a proficient pianist.  I spend much of my time divided between my studies and my hobbies.  Hopefully I've laid some sort of basis for commonality so far :)

Now onto my question -

I just recently "discovered" this website and the questions it raises certainly gives me a headful of thoughts to mull over.  I've never fully alligned my system of beliefs with fundamentalists of any kind, and have always chosen to see God in a syncretistic manner.  To me, the question of God "answering" prayers is invalid because I think that divine intervention in our frivolous affairs actually diminishes the potency and glory of the God I choose to worship.  I see God in a sort of pan-deistic duality.  In addition, I believe that faith in such a being holds credence because the views I espouse qualify under a classification of "proper basicality".  As for prostelyzing others to my views, I hold a sort of "Jamesian" Pragmatism - I follow the "Christian tradition" solely because of the strength of personal experience and effect it accrues to its members.  Note - I am making no claim on the way these experiences support the veracity of a specific theism claim, only their pure pragmatic effect and why I choose to follow the "Christian tradition" based off of them (the experiences).