Author Topic: To continue....  (Read 249 times)

Offline Jstwebbrowsing

• Reader
  • Darwins +21/-97
  • WWGHA Member
To continue....
« on: June 16, 2014, 02:34:44 PM »
I actually had a post prepared when the forum went down.  I don't remember exactly the topic.  But here is the reply.

Do you have any idea what this...ability...to determine whether or not an idea was implanted by god actually entails?  I wouldn't expect an ambiguous answer in this case, assuming that god doesn't want to be ambiguous.  After all, it's god implanting this idea, and god implanting the...knowledge...that the idea does in fact come from him.

I don't know what it would have been like for them, no.  I don't know what it's like to prophecy, speak in tongues, resurrect the dead, or any of those other things.  Jehovah inspires me but I'm not a prophet or an apostle.  I don't know what it's like to receive inspiration above what I myself have received.  But I can tell you that to recognize it is a learning process and much depends on Jehovah's will.  I cannot will myself to become a prophet.

Does drowning your kids in response to a message that you thought was from god count as training and/or experience?

No.  Murder is definately out of the question.

Why would it ever go away?  Does god get tired of trying or something?  Personally, I can't tell if it was ever there in the first place - would I be able to tell if it went away?

It's not actually God that goes away so much as your ability to perceive his spirit becomes dull or even sometimes seared.  If it has become dull it can be sharpened with the scriptures.  If it has become seared then that is permanent.

I don't know if you would be able to tell or not.  Jesus said, "Happy are those conscious of their spiritual need."  Can you perceive a spiritual need within yourself?  That may be a good indicator.  Asking questions can reflect a consciousness of it.  But then it really boils down to why you are asking.