Author Topic: Climate Change: Just The Facts  (Read 396 times)

Offline median

• Reader
  • Darwins +201/-16
  • Yahweh: Obviously not obvious.
    • Talk Origins
Climate Change: Just The Facts
« on: April 28, 2014, 12:45:06 AM »
I am just beginning to really dig into this issue of global climate change and its effects. Are human beings causing the earth to heat up in temperature and therefore melt the ice caps, etc? How can I find the evidence here and what are the good/bad arguments on both sides? Are scientists united on this issue? What are the facts and what should be done?

References please.
Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence. Carl Sagan

Offline jaimehlers

• Fellow
  • Darwins +563/-17
  • WWGHA Member
Re: Climate Change: Just The Facts
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 12:10:58 PM »
Global warming and global cooling is mostly based on non-human processes.  However, human production of greenhouse gases over time has helped to maintain a relatively warm planet even though we should be entering a glacial period, at least according to the geological record.

Offline shnozzola

« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 06:55:31 PM by shnozzola »
“The best thing for being sad," replied Merlin, beginning to puff and blow, "is to learn something."  ~ T. H. White
  The real holy trinity:  onion, celery, and bell pepper ~  all Cajun Chefs

Offline mrbiscoop

• Postgraduate
  • Darwins +31/-2
  • Faith is not a virtue!
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2014, 10:20:16 PM »
Global warming and global cooling is mostly based on non-human processes.  However, human production of greenhouse gases over time has helped to maintain a relatively warm planet even though we should be entering a glacial period, at least according to the geological record.
Care to back that up with something other than just your assertions?
When I was a kid I used to pray every night for a new bicycle. Then I realised that the Lord doesn't work that way so I stole one and asked Him to forgive me.