Author Topic: To Grade or not to Grade?  (Read 763 times)

Offline median

• Reader
  • Darwins +201/-16
  • Yahweh: Obviously not obvious.
    • Talk Origins
To Grade or not to Grade?
« on: March 14, 2014, 12:12:37 AM »
I realize this is perhaps more of a political question (for some), but for me it is not. I am reading the article below and would like some feedback in considering the question: Should we continue to use the old grading systems in schools (A,B,C,D,F etc) or is there a better way?[1]

http://www.alfiekohn.org/teaching/fdtd-g.htm

What say you and why?
 1. For those who don't know, I am a teacher (as well as a student) and educate K-8.
Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence. Carl Sagan

Offline Willie

• Postgraduate
  • Darwins +77/-1
Re: To Grade or not to Grade?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 03:58:48 AM »
The author makes some good points, but I'm only partly convinced. Schools serve two primary functions. One is to teach, the other is to assess. Pretty much everyone can agree with that, but there seems to be a great deal of disagreement about where the balance should be between these two functions. Mr. Kohn seems to think that it is tilted too heavily towards assessment, and needs to focus more on teaching. Mr. Kohn acknowledges the need for assessment, and mentions replacing grading with "more informative (and less destructive) systems of assessment", but is somewhat fuzzy about what that entails. The most descriptive paragraph about that is this: