Author Topic: Hey everybody  (Read 131 times)

Offline wiswit

• Freshman
  • Darwins +1/-0
  • WWGHA Member
Hey everybody
« on: October 12, 2014, 01:04:45 PM »
I have been a member of this forum for little more than two months now and I have decided to officially introduce myself. The reason I have waited this long is because, as opposed to the friend who recommended me to take a look at this forum (and as I have come to learn FROM many other members), I have had little religious experiences. I have just recently begun to think about religion, try to understand it and its effect on people. To that end I wish to engage in discussions and to learn your views on various matters.

Here is an outline of my experience with religion:
Being brought up, I was never told to do or don't do something because of god or scripture. My parents would say that I have been brought up with religious (at least partly) values and understanding, based on their own religion. My parents grew up in an Islamic country but left when they were about 25 years old. They are muslim but they interpret the quran themselves and use only those parts they think are valid and useful. By doing this they are not really considered to be muslim by even some of their own family members.
I have read some of the replies on this forum regarding 'cherry picking' from scripture to ones own liking. The first verse in the quran says it is a book of which there is no doubt...so I understand that it seems strange that one can do that and still claim to be (in this case) muslim. However, my parents maintain the argument that one must evolve with time and interpret scripture with our current knowledge.