Author Topic: We should put forth new guidelines on debate and responding to questions, etc.  (Read 326 times)

Offline jeremy0

• Postgraduate
  • Darwins +26/-12
    • Economics and Technology
  • User is on moderator watch listWatched
In the past, I exited rather rudely and ridiculously trying to prove a point to the rest of you.

Some forum admins were aware of what I was doing.  The message was simple - all of us have an opinion, and while it matters, opinions are like a--holes - everybody has their own.

Now I've been spending my time researching economies and different types of societies, and promoting ideas.  I needed to concentrate on other movements rather than just atheist-related things.  But I'm a horrible writer, so you can see why I have a hard time convincing people of things.

The problem I wanted to point out to you was that we argue over everything - never one side conceding their opinion to the other, but always wanting to voice their opinion.  That implies closed-mindedness and I should remind you that most of us become atheist because we approached the topic of religion with an open mind.  Therefore, we should approach other areas with an open mind as well.  Because in the past topic, which was whether or not a pedophile deserves the death penalty, we pointed out numerous citations, facts, and debate on whether or not they deserve such a punishment.  Morality would tell you that if you commit a crime, you should at most get equal punishment for that crime.  Sadly, we cannot even agree on what equal punishment might be, and we had to remind many that the United States is among the very few developed countries that still advocates the death penalty.