Author Topic: Comments [#507]  (Read 594 times)

Offline PostalGirl

• Graduate
  • Darwins +16/-0
  • Just your friendly neighborhood postal girl!
Comments [#507]
« on: October 06, 2008, 09:30:18 PM »
Hi ,
I just ran across your site and thought I should take a moment to comment.  First let me
introduce myself,  my name is [Name].  I am a Canadian airline pilot, 49yrs old,
married with two great children.  I grew up in a lightly(my term) religious (United)
family.  We celebrated religious holidays , Christmas, Easter, went to church on
occasion, but that was it.  God was not really ever spoken of.  My parents were great
people and loving parents.  They served their countries in WW2 and raised happy and
healthy children.  I suspect they only payed lip service to God as a matter of custom.

My wife and I too played this game.  I did enjoy going to church IF the minister was a
good orator, speaking of the issues of the day in general, not too biblical terms.  I am,
or at least I like to think I am, a rational person.  Over the years I have found it
harder and harder to buy into firstly, peoples interpretation of the bible, then in the
whole idea of an all knowing invisible man watching my every move.  A few years ago my
wife was diagnosed with a (thankfully) begnin menagenoma, (brain tumour).  As she was
wheeled into surgery I prepared for the longest day of my life.  As I sat waiting in the
family area of the hospital I silently prayed to God for things to be alright. As the
hours wore on I asked myself why would God raise his hand to help my wife, (a good and
loving person for sure) but not to help the young child in another wing suffering from
cancer.  It was then I realized that the only person that could give us the "miracle" we
hoped for was here, standing beside her, it was of course Dr. [John Smith].  He was the
one with the skill and knowledge, hard gained by years of study.  He and only he (at that